The Saints have been wanting to get one more center back, particularly with Jan Bednarek leaving for Aston Villa using a loan earlier on Thursday.

tvguidetime.com

Moreover, they have moved quickly to get past Liverpool target Caleta-Car.

“It was really a crazy day. I’m very empowered considering the way that I chatted with the coach, I think he is a nice tutor and clearly the gathering – I watched them against Chelsea and in the games beforehand,” the Croatian told Southampton’s site.

“I know how they play, they have a lot of energetic players, so I need to come perfect in the get-together and go with them reliably, to progress with them together.”

— Southampton FC (@SouthamptonFC) September 1, 2022

Boss Ralph Hasenhuttl added: “Duje is currently a very settled and experienced player, who has taken a stab at his past clubs.

“He is a significant presence on the pitch and he will bring a lot more prominent quality into our center back pack. It is huge we have incredible significance and decisions here, and he gives us another very astounding one.”